Posted in Uncategorized

My fantasy baseball team

Here is my first-ever sports blog post. Trust me, there will be plenty more sports-related posts in the future. I can just hear my friend Amy now: “You men and your sports!”

Anyhow, for about 10 years (probably longer), I have been a part of the fantasy baseball league Clutch Hitters Only, of which my friend Brandon Brown is the commissioner. My team name is the Springfield Isotopes. I used to be a big fan of The Simpsons, but I’m not so much anymore. However, I couldn’t think of a better name for my team. Coincidentally or not, Brandon is currently in first place in the league, probably because he created the league rules and knows them inside and out! I am currently in fourth place out of 12 teams (the top 6 make the championship bracket of the league playoffs). Of course, there is plenty of baseball to be played this season. I am leading the league in stolen bases and am pretty competitive in the other statistical categories. FYI, there are six batting statistical categories and six pitching statistical categories. The batting categories are: runs, home runs, runs batted in, stolen bases, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. The pitching categories are: saves, strikeouts, earned-run average, WHIP (walks plus hits divided by innings pitched), strikeout-to-walk ratio, and quality starts.

My current roster is as follows (there are two DL spots allowed in the league, so I’ve kept a couple of other MLB players on my bench who are currently on the DL):

Batters – C: Kevin Plawecki (NYM), 1B: Jose Abreu (CWS), 2B: Jose Altuve (Hou), 3B: Manny Machado (Bal), SS: Addison Russell (ChC), CI: Justin Morneau (Col-1B), MI: Devon Travis (Tor-2B), LF: Matt Kemp (SD), CF: Jacoby Ellsbury (NYY), RF: Jay Bruce (Cin), OF: Gregory Polanco (Pit), Util: Billy Butler (Oak-1B), Bench: Devin Mesoraco (Cin-C), Alex Rios (KC-RF), Jung Ho Kang (Pit-3B,SS), DL: Matt Wieters (C-Bal).

Pitchers: SP: Jordan Zimmerman (Was), Sonny Gray (Oak), Chris Archer (TB), Tim Lincecum (SF), Wei-Yin Chen (Bal), RP: Craig Kimbrel (SD), Huston Street (LAA), Neftali Feliz (Tex), Bench: Dan Haren (Mia), Archie Bradley (Ari), DL: Hisashi Iwakuma (Sea).

You’ll notice I don’t have any current or former Detroit Tigers on my team, although I drafted Austin Jackson, who was traded to the Mariners as part of the David Price trade last season, for my bench before the start of the season. However, I released Jackson when he landed on the DL. I also drafted Jacoby Ellsbury, even though he’s on the Yankees. You have to put personal feelings aside when dealing with fantasy sports!

In addition, I currently have three catchers on my team: Plawecki, Mesoraco, and Wieters. I’ve been between a rock and a hard place the entire season when it comes to the catcher position. Of course, Wieters has been on the DL since the season started, while Mesoraco has barely played all season (for whatever reason, the Reds haven’t placed him on the DL). That necessitated me picked up Plawecki from the waiver wire, so I’d at least have a warm body to fill that spot. I’ll trim my roster to two catchers when the time is right, but I want to keep two catchers on my team because that position takes its toll on players from a physical standpoint.

So, do any of you guys play fantasy baseball or fantasy sports in general? Please let me know what you think of my team!

Author:

I am a lifelong Catholic and a Detroit sports fan (especially of the Tigers and Lions), as well as a proud Central Michigan University alumnus (Fire Up Chips!). I live in Clarkston, MI and have two younger sisters and two cool nieces!

Leave a Reply

