Posted in Uncategorized

My first-ever blog post

Well, I’ve joined the 21st century and started my own blog!

Earlier this morning, I met with Fr. Jim Strasz, s.m., at Notre Dame Prep in Pontiac (he was my former junior religion teacher at Notre Dame High School in Harper Woods in 1987-88). I told him that I left my job at Sunrise Publications in West Branch, MI in May 2012, and that I didn’t really have an outlet for my writing skills, because I am no longer in the newspaper industry after having spent approximately 15 years in that business. He suggested, in reply, that I start a blog of my own. So you can either thank or blame him that I started this blog!

Anyhow, on this blog, I will be posting my thoughts on what’s going on in my corner of the world, as well as my thoughts on sports, my Catholic faith, and society at large. I certainly welcome differing viewpoints from my own (those of you who know me know I’m not a controversial or confrontational person, by any stretch of the imagination), but at the same time, I have some strong opinions on the world around me. I’ve never really felt comfortable talking about my own opinions, because I figured, “Who cares what I think?” Or, as WWE Superstar and movie star The Rock might put it, “It doesn’t matter what I think!” However, given my writing ability, I think a blog would be a good place to share those viewpoints with the world at large.

My first-ever blog post will feature my thoughts on SiriusXM satellite radio. I started subscribing to it when I leased my 2014 Chevrolet Cruze in November 2014, and I think it is one of the coolest things ever invented! I already posted this question to my FB friends, and I will post this to you guys now: For those of you who subscribe to SiriusXM, what are your favorite stations on that service? Mine are: 80s on 8, Classic Rewind (70s/80s classic rock), The Bridge (mellow rock), The Catholic Channel, and Sirius XM NFL Radio. In addition, I also enjoy listening to Holly during the Christmas season.

That’s all for now! Take care and talk to you soon! – Jeff

Author:

I am a lifelong Catholic and a Detroit sports fan (especially of the Tigers and Lions), as well as a proud Central Michigan University alumnus (Fire Up Chips!). I live in Clarkston, MI and have two younger sisters and two cool nieces!

2 thoughts on “My first-ever blog post

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging! I have always enjoyed your writing so I am excited to see this! Although not a big sports fan (I say that with WWE on my tv in the background ha ha!) I am sure I will find much to appreciate and enjoy. I have a blog myself. If you would ever care to visit I will leave the address in my details. It has been a while since I have posted anything. I used to post regularly and had many blogging friends but they all seemed to slip away and when I didn’t seem to have many people reading I guess I let myself slip away also. I really miss it and may pick it up again. Actually I think I stopped about the time facebook really took off. FB is ok but it’s just not the same. Also I am finding there is a lot of stuff on FB that I don’t like or approve of. When you go to my blog you will see on the side bar a link to my web page. That is a space I started for my faith. I had that before I started the blog. There are features of each that I like and I have long been considering combining the two if I can find a way to do it that I like. Well enough of this. I just wanted to welcome you and let you know I will be checking in occasionally. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

