The Yes Movement will not go away

WWE superstar Daniel Bryan just can’t catch a break. 

At Wrestlemania 30 last year, Bryan stole the show and won the WWE World Heavyweight championship, to the roaring approval of fans at the Superdome in New Orleans. However, he had to vacate the title due to injuries. Fast forward to this year, when Bryan won the WWE Intercontinental championship at Wrestlemania 31. Again, he doesn’t get to hang on to the title for very long, as he vacated that title earlier this month due to injuries. It’s not certain, when, or even if, he’ll return to active competition.

Bryan seemingly has been underestimated ever since arriving in WWE in 2010. I’m fairly certain that a certain WWE Chairman, Vince McMahon, never saw Bryan as a future Wrestlemania main eventer. The same Vince McMahon who thought it was a brilliant idea to start the XFL (how did that turn out, by the way?), and the same Vince McMahon who made an idiot of himself in the Stand Back video back in 1987. I could recite countless other examples, but you get the point: McMahon is not infallible, and Bryan has every right to have a chip on his shoulder for being underestimated by him. If I were Bryan, I’d rub his success in McMahon’s face every chance I could. If Bryan doesn’t feel comfortable doing that, then he can at least have someone like The Rock do it on his behalf. However, Bryan is a better man than I am, so it’s probably not going to happen.

I also believe that Triple H and Stephanie McMahon constantly referring to Bryan in storyline as a B-plus player was a direct reflection of how the WWE powers that be view Bryan in real life. Despite all that Bryan has accomplished, I wouldn’t be surprised if they still view him as a B-plus player. I don’t think Bryan will ever get another run with the WWE World title because of his injury history, which is a rotten shame. 

I’ve never met the man, but from all I’ve heard, Bryan is as humble as it gets for being as talented as he is (much like former Detroit Red Wings captain Steve Yzerman). I’m sure Bryan is flattered that ordinary Joes like myself are sticking up for him, but at the same time, he’s probably at least a little embarrassed. He doesn’t seem the least bit interested in fame or what the world views as success. He just wants to be the best and remain down-to-Earth at the same time. I wish I had his outlook on life.

The WWE is producing a DVD set on Bryan, to be released in June, and is putting out a book on Bryan’s life, to be released in July. I plan to purchase both items. After all, the poor guy and his family shouldn’t have to starve just because he is injured, and I’ll do my part to make sure that doesn’t happen. I have to wonder if the WWE wants Bryan and the Yes Movement to go away so that the WWE can promote guys that more closely fit their viewpoint of what a WWE Superstar looks like. News flash: the Yes Movement is not going away. You can’t fool the fans, and you can’t stop talent.

Even if he never competes in another match again, Bryan has accomplished enough in his career to warrant inclusion into the WWE Hall of Fame. Only a select few performers can say they stole the show at a Wrestlemania, and Bryan is one of them. I’m sure he’s not preoccupied with when or if he makes it there. However, he’s going in, whether he likes it or not! (LOL)

Godspeed and get well soon, Daniel.

Leave a Reply

