Being OK with myself

The more I think about it, the more I realize I have to be as content with myself as I possibly can in order for me to move forward with my life. Of course, we all have to adapt to changing times and circumstances in order to survive. No one wants to see the world pass them by. However, being content with myself is easier said than done.

I readily admit that I am not very good when it comes to managing my money. Eating out seems to be a bad habit for me. Even though I am not independently wealthy to begin with, the temptation of eating out is often too great for me to resist. Between my Social Security disability and working at Lowe’s, it is a struggle to make it each month. However, I am not doing myself any favors. I feel like I am letting my parents down, and moreover, I feel like I am letting God down. After all, He calls us to be good stewards of what we have on this Earth, and I haven’t always done that. I also feel like I have let a lot of people down by not being in a better spot from a life standpoint. Since I am in my 40s, and a college graduate, I think I should be in a better spot than I am. However, I think I am in the majority of folks for which life hasn’t turned out like they had planned. After all that I have been through, I need to celebrate and take pride in the smaller victories that come with each day, and not be so hard on myself. By the same token, I need to recognize that there is still room for improvement.

For those of you who don’t know, I am a member of the Reflect retreat team, which conducts 1-2 retreats per year for midlife Catholic singles at St. Francis Retreat Center in DeWitt, MI, not too far from Lansing. I have been on the team for about 5-6 years. I am grateful for their unconditional friendship, acceptance, and support. I think they realize that I have my own unique gifts that I bring to the team. Just the same, I think there are times where I feel inadequate in their presence, and it isn’t because of anything they did wrong. It’s just that the majority of them have life experiences that I’ve never had: home ownership, having family lives of their own, going on vacations to places I’ve never been, etc. It’s totally illogical, yet that’s often how I feel.

I guess that goes to show you that while I think a lot of things have changed for the better for me since I moved back to metro Detroit back in May 2012, I still have to learn to love myself first and foremost. I have to be good to myself before I can be good to other people.

2 thoughts on “Being OK with myself

  1. Casey Kasem used to say “Keep for feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars.” I think one possible interpretation of this is that we need to both be OK with ourselves in the present and also keep dreaming for the future. Of course, if we are OK with ourselves in the present, then it is much easier to keep doing what we can day to day to help achieve our dreams for the future.

Leave a Reply

