Posted in Uncategorized

Transitions

As I usually do, I am planning to attend 9:30 a.m. Mass this coming Sunday at my parish, Our Lady of the Lakes Catholic Church in Waterford, MI. The incoming pastor at OLL, Fr. Scott Thibodeau, is scheduled to preside at Mass.

The upcoming July 4 weekend will be the first for Fr. Scott at OLL. Fr. Lawrence Delonnay, who has been pastor at OLL since 1994, is retiring as pastor. From what I heard, Fr. D will be getting some much-needed R&R and eventually hopes to find an assignment as a weekend assistant somewhere in the thumb. The parish’s Knights of Columbus council (of which I am a member) presented a farewell picnic for Fr. D this past Sunday, June 25. Unfortunately, it started to rain shortly after the picnic started, but it was good to see so many people there.

I’m fairly sure Fr. Scott is at least a little nervous heading into his new assignment, much the same as anyone would when starting a new job or work assignment, although Fr. Scott’s new assignment has eternal dimensions to it! He has most recently served as pastor at Our Lady Queen of Martyrs in Beverly Hills, MI. Obviously, I don’t know firsthand what it’s like being a pastor at one church and then becoming a pastor at a new church. I don’t know what the culture is at Our Lady Queen of Martyrs, but having been a parishioner at OLL since November 2013, I can say that OLL is a very good faith community. Being a member of the church’s K of C council, as well as a member of the adult choir (we sing at 9:30 a.m. Mass pretty much each Sunday between Labor Day and the beginning of June) has made me feel like more of a part of the church community, as opposed to just attending Mass each Sunday.

I’m sure the parish community will do everything possible to make Fr. Scott feel welcome at OLL. No doubt, it’s going to take some time for him to learn the ins and outs of how the parish works. I will be praying for him in this endeavor.

Author:

I am a lifelong Catholic and a Detroit sports fan (especially of the Tigers and Lions), as well as a proud Central Michigan University alumnus (Fire Up Chips!). I live in Clarkston, MI and have two younger sisters and two cool nieces!

Leave a Reply

